List: Top 30 Most Anticipated Films (January to April 2012)


The early months of the year are usually pretty empty when it comes to quality studio releases. But luckily for us cinephiles, the early months are jam-packed with smaller releases of long-awaited international fare and smaller indie flicks finally getting their release dates. January through April becomes an exciting time for films despite the assumption that there is nothing out there to see. Additionally, there are always several big releases that surprise with their quality, seemingly coming out of nowhere (and those that don’t come out of nowhere with solid reception such as The Grey and Haywire) with a release that could have only come during this time of the year. I think we can agree that Chronicle fits that slot. I usually have some kind of interest in the majority of releases, whether it be for genuine interest or for guilty pleasure reasons. I’m pretty surprised that my 30 is this jam-packed.I can’t think of a more internationally eclectic group of films that have ever made up one of my Anticipated Films list (and I’ve been doing these 3 times a year since 2006). I’ve got films represented in the 30 alone from the UK, Greece, Albania, Chile, Mexico, Poland, Norway, France, Japan, Turkey, Belgium, Israel, Iran, Indonesia, Austria and Australia!

A lot of the films that did not make the cut I am very excited to see. For example, I think the comedic duo of Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill in 21 Jump Street looks inspired; yes I said it, inspired. Though Norwegian Wood was a book I felt would have been more meaningful to me if I read it as a teenager, I’m very interested in seeing its adaptation, and with Rinko Kikuchi no less. Just how much of a disaster will Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance be? I don’t know, but I want to see the insane end result with the Crank directors at the helm. Whether is be a passing interest (‘yeah I guess I’ll see through Netflix someday) or an active one, there’s obviously a lot coming out that looks in some way intriguing. Here are the 30 that made the cut, in order, with very short bullet point reasons.

A side note: When I list the synopsis as a reason, I should be clear that this is an element of interest with all these choices (clearly), but that the films where I cite synopsis as a reason means it particularly stands out even more so than the films I did not put it in for.


30. In Darkness

Why? New Agnieszka Holland films are a rarity.


29. Chronicle

Why? For someone pretty sick of superhero films, this sounds like a nice change of pace that seems to embrace the inherent and realistic selfishness of people. The warm reception solidifies its spot.


28. Bernie

Why? Richard Linklater, synopsis and Jack Black doing something I am actually interested in that does not include voicing an animated panda.


27. The Hunter

Why? Willem Dafoe, synopsis. While not the biggest fan of Sleeping Beauty, I love Julia Leigh’s ideas and want to see a work of hers adapted for the screen by someone more capable of filming it than Leigh herself.


26. Friends with Kids

Why? The cast which includes Kristen Wiig, Adam Scott, Maya Rudolph and the delectable Jon Hamm. Only concern is Westfeldt as lead; not really a commanding presence but we shall see. Plus, it’s her project so she has every right to place herself front-and-center.

25. The Kid with a Bike

Why? Dardenne Brothers, acclaim build-up since Cannes, Cecile de France and Jeremie Renier.

24. Post Mortem

Why? Synopsis. Although I haven’t seen Tony Manero, I know of its acclaim and that Pablo Larrain is one to watch judging by the formers praise.


23. Once Upon a Time in Anatolia

Why? It’s placement on countless 2011 film lists from those who had seen it, its universal acclaim

22. The Innkeepers

Why? Ti West’s follow-up to The House of the Devil, been making the rounds since SXSW premiere last March, divisive opinions have me further intrigued (although I don’t know the specifics; a new-years resolution is to read less about a film’s reception before seeing it. Nothing really beyond basic critical reaction is my goal)

21. The Woman in Black

Why? Daniel Radcliffe’s first onscreen post-Potter role, Hammer Films output, looks like an entirely old-fashioned ghost story relying on atmosphere which pulls me in, James Watkins (director of Eden Lake which I failed to get to this past October, but who I assume is a director with some kind of credibility)

20. Footnote

Why? Synopsis, critical reception

19. Haywire (seen)

Why? Building a film around a female MMA retiree for the sole purpose of exhibiting her physical skills, Steveb Soderbergh, ensemble cast

18. The Secret World of Arietty

Why? Studio Ghibli

17. The Forgiveness of Blood

Why? Synopsis, Joshua Marston’s nine-year after-the-fact follow-up to Maria Full of Grace

16. The Deep Blue Sea

Why? Terence Davies, months and months of festival buzz build-up, based on a Terence Rattigan play, Tom Hiddleston


15. Attenberg

Why? The endless comparisons (both favorable and unfavorable) to Dogtooth, hearing about this film for the year and a half since its first festival premiere and having wanted to see it way back then.

14. Miss Bala

Why? Synopsis, critical reception

13. Michael

Why? Festival acclaim, made by Haneke’s casting director, intrigued by use of controversial subject matter


12. Cabin in the Woods

Why? Joss Whedon’s involvement, finally getting released after years of sitting on the shelf, Amy Acker, synopsis, genre

11. Headhunters

Why? Festival buzz, while I don’t pay much heed to IMDB scores, when something has a 7.5 from 5,000 votes I take notice, based on a Jo Nesbo novel whose novels I haven’t read but is very well-renowned meaning this is assumedly based on solid source material, Nikolas Coster-Waldau is the Norwegian Josh Holloway (and also the luscious Jaime Lannister).

10. Bully (documentary)

Why? Extremely important and timely subject matter that needs exploration and at the very least addressing in all forms including the documentary medium.

9. Bullhead

Why? Synopsis, buzz, critical reception

8. Crazy Horse (documentary)

Why? Two words; Frederick. Wiseman.

7. This is Not a Film (documentary)

Why? I shouldn’t even have to give reasons here. If the fact that this is absolutely necessary to see does not slam you over the film once you’ve got the proper context for its existence, then I just don’t want to know you.

6. The Raid

Why? Been wanting to drown my eyeballs in this since its reaction at Toronto and subsequent trailer release, exactly the kind of genre flick I anticipate

5. Snowtown

Why? Yet another film I’ve been waiting to see for quite some time (tracking back at the very least to Toronto; see this is why this time of year is awesome, because all these festival films I’ve been waiting to see for months finally get released), synopsis, acclaim

4. Sound of My Voice

Why? Synopsis, the first of two collaborative efforts (each of slightly different sorts) between Brit Marling and Zal Batmanglij whose upcoming similarly cult-infiltration based The East is one of my very highly anticipated upcoming films, early buzz.

3. Damsels in Distress

Why? Whit Stillman’s first film in an incomprehensible 14 years. Enough said.

2. Kill List

Why? Since hearing about this from last years SXSW this has been at the top of my highly anticipated films, all-over-the-map critical reaction, hush-hush “Don’t read anything about it, just go see it” comments

1. The Hunger Games

Why? Not at all sorry to break it to you folks, but I’m a “Hunger Games” fan, which clearly means I am more excited about this than anything else coming out through April. With Gary Ross at the helm and Billy Ray being a screenplay contributor (not to mention the quality of the images and footage seen thus far), you can bet I’m counting down the days for this. And I feel bad for anybody willing to immediately write it off.

The rest (in alphabetical order):

21 Jump Street
4:44 Last Day on Earth
Albatross
ATM
Being Flynn
Black Butterflies
Butter
Casa de mi Padre
Chico and Rita
Chimpanzee
Darling Companion
Declaration of War
Detachment
Detention
Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance
Gone
House at the End of the Street
Jeff, Who Lives at Home
Jiro Dreams of Sushi
John Carter
Lockout
Mirror Mirror
Movie 43
Natural Selection
Norwegian Wood
On the Ice
Payback
Perfect Sense
Pirates! Band of Misfits
Return
Seeking a Friend for the End of the World
Silent House
The Decoy Bride
The Five-Year Engagement
The Front Line
The Grey
The Moth Diaries
The Raven
The Salt of Life
The Turin Horse
Thin Ice
Wanderlust

9 comments

  1. I’m not going to pretend like I have heard of all of these films, so thankyou for introducing me to all of them! I wish they played a wider variety of films at my local cinema, they never play smaller-festival films :(

    Also…Hunger Games! I am literally pissing myself waiting for it next month :’D

    1. You are welcome! It’s great to hear that the post is introducing some of these films to people who may not have heard of some of them. That’s always great!

      Yes, I am beyond excited for The Hunger Games. I just cannot wait to see how it turns out!

  2. Very solid list. Those that I’ve seen (CHRONICLE, POST MORTEM, INNKEEPERS, HAYWIRE, SECRET WORLD OF ARIETTY, MICHAEL, HEADHUNTERS, BULLHEAD, THE RAID, KILL LIST) are all well worth a watch at the very least, and pretty much all the rest are also on my to-watch list for 2012.

  3. I don’t know if IN DARKNESS is already out on my city or will be next weekend but I need to be on that. Same goes for MISS BALA, which was out since last Friday.

  4. The Kid with a Bike is fantastic – incredibly tense, surprisingly moving.

    Once Upon a Time in Anatolia is breathtakingly beautiful but extremely slow-going.

    Really looking forward to Michael…

Leave a Reply

