Movie Music Mix: 1965


Scores and soundtracks alike, many of the films I watched from 1965 had me tracking down some kind of music after watching them. 1965 was a booming year for music and I think that comes across with this mix. I’m rubbish at writing about music, so I won’t, but there’s a mix of psychedelic pop, lounge jazz, iconic classics and more.

There were a couple of pieces of music I would have liked to get on here but there is literally no isolated versions of them anywhere. Yoyo, which perhaps had the most indelible music from anything I watched from that year, has no soundtrack or even youtube music uploads to speak of. This is all related to the film becoming recently available for the first time. Repulsion’s skittish jazz score also has no succinct existence anywhere on the interwebs. So I had to let those go. Everything else I was at least able to find a youtube upload and convert it to MP3. There’s some really famous stuff I opted out of putting in here. Most notably “Lara’s Theme” from Doctor Zhivago and anything from The Sound of Music. Reasons being I’m indifferent to each. I do like a lot of the songs in The Sound of Music but not enough to put them on here. These are songs I love. And that was the criteria for me. Not to be represent the year as a whole.

I posted the mix on 8tracks (sans Fists in the Pocket track because they only allow 2 songs per artist) so it’s available for listening if anyone is interested. Sorry for the poor quality on certain songs. It is literally the only access I had to them.

8tracks mix link: http://8tracks.com/cinephile24/1965-movie-music

more

  1. “For a Few Dollars More” (theme) – composed by Ennio Morricone – from For a Few Dollars More
  2. “Main Title/Spiral Waltz” – composed by Piero Piccioni – From The 10th Victim
  3. “My Little Red Book” – Manfred Mann – from What’s New Pussycat? (was so tempted to put Love’s rendition but held back)
  4. “Just Out of Reach” – The Zombies – from Bunny Lake is Missing
  5. “Linus and Lucy” – Vince Guaraldi Trio – from A Charlie Brown Christmas
  6. “Run Pussy Cat” – The Bostweeds – from Faster Pussycat Kill! Kill!
  7. “What’s New Pussycat?” – Tom Jones – from What’s New Pussycat?
  8. “Hooligan” – Artist unknown – from Loves of a Blonde
  9. “Ticket to Ride” – The Beatles – from Help!
  10. “Skating” – Vince Guaraldi  Trio– from A Charlie Brown Christmas
  11. “I Pugni in Tasca” (Fists in the Pocket) – composed by Ennio Morricone – Fists in the Pocket
  12. “Who Killed Teddy Bear” –  Leslie Uggams– from Who Killed Teddy Bear
  13. Final Duel Music (no official name) – composed by Ennio Morricone – For a Few Dollars More (not available on soundtrack, used in film only. “Sixty Seconds to What” is closest representation on soundtrack)

One comment

  1. If you can get a copy of the soundtrack to The Ipcress File, the John Barry music is wonderful. He’s the guy who composed the James Bond music back in the 1960s. You can hear it here:

Leave a Reply

