Review: Anvil! The Story of Anvil (2009, Gervasi)


Anvil: The Story of Anvil (2009): 8.8/10

Anvil: The Story of Anvil is a riveting, extremely personal documentary about the trials and tribulations of a metal band from the 80’s who are trying to get back the stint of fame they had early in their career.

It starts out with one of the films few missteps. My understanding from a friend who has dedicated his life to metal much in the way I have dedicated mine to film, explained to me that while Anvil was certainly a decent metal band, they are not revolutionary in the way that the beginning makes them out to be. Overlooked maybe, but not nearly as important as the film makes them out to be right from the start. Although he does concede to the fact that their output has been uncommonly consistent which is a nearly impossible feat to any band to sustain any sort of quality for 30 years (look at U2; they suck now. Seriously, what happened?) It is an understandable strategy for the film though. The more legendary that they come off, the more epic their story will seem and the more we will root for the band to succeed. They do not need quite this much hype though because once we meet the two remaining original band members who are the stars of the film, it is difficult not to root for them.

2 thoughts on “Review: Anvil! The Story of Anvil (2009, Gervasi)

  1. I love how surprisingly adorable this movie is. And I didn’t know that about the exaggerated influence of the band in the beginning, since I don’t really listen to metal. I can understand why the filmmakers would spin it that way though.

    1. Catherine says:

      yeah I can understand too. believe me, I would have had zero idea about the intro if my friend had not informed me. Anvil IS adorable!!! I know! I was surprised as well. Their friendship was really complex, troubled but grounded in decades of knowing each other and their connection had some really adorable moments : )

Leave a Reply

