List: Top 30 Anticipated Films of Fall 2011


Fall Movie Season has arrived again. Hello folks! It has been a while. Between a trip to Korea that I will forever cherish and getting settled into my 2nd semester at Simmons, I have not had time to review or post anything here. While grad school will likely take up most of my time, I will be posting reviews in the upcoming months. This weekend I am seeing Senna, which ranked in my top 5 most anticipated Summer releases. There will be a review up next week.

Fall Movie Season is always jam-packed with hyped prestige releases and this year is no different. There is a lot of releases in the US to look forward to in the upcoming months. From a director’s perspective, new films from Steven Soderbergh, Lars von Trier, Kenneth Lonergan (yes, after more than a few years, Margaret is finally getting released), Martin Scorsese, Alexander Payne, Gus van Sant, Pedro Almodovar, Beat Takeshi, Sion Sono (Love Exposure finally getting official release in the states!!!!!), Tsui Hark, Tomas Alfredson, Roman Polanski, David Fincher, Lucky McKee, Steven Spielberg, Lynne Ramsay, Nicolas Winding Refn, Clint Eastwood and David Cronenberg are expected to make waves. And that’s just a taste. Listed below the Top 30 are the other films this Fall I would like to see. I tend to include films I am indifferent to on this list. Any film that instills a reaction of “yeah I’d see that” can be found there. Thus, there are films I am genuinely excited for in that long alphabetized list (The Descendants) and films I don’t care about but would see (Machine Gun Preacher). The only films not on the list are the ones I really have no active interest in. Films like Bucky Larson, New Year’s Eve, Happy Feet 2 and I Don’t Know How She Does It are the kinds of films not present here.

Which films are you most excited for this Fall? There are a lot to choose from! I will keep this list updated with films that secure distribution dates after this list is posted.


30. Coriolanus


29. Corman’s World: Exploits of a Hollywood Rebel

28. Restless


27. Love Crime


26. Pariah


25. Albert Nobbs


24. The Artist


23. Outrage


22. The Muppets


21. The Ides of March


20. In Time


19. Margaret


18. The Woman


17. Contagion


16. J. Edgar


15. Carnage


14. Sleeping Beauty


13. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy


12. The Monk


11. A Separation


10. The Skin I Live In


9. Drive


8. A Dangerous Method


7. Tyrannosaur


6. Take Shelter


5. Love Exposure


4. Martha Marcy May Marlene


3. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo


2. We Need to Talk About Kevin


1. Melancholia

The Rest:

50/50
The Adventures of Tintin
American Teacher
Anonymous
Apollo 18
The Autobiography of Nicolae Ceausescu
Being Elmo
The Big Year
Burke and Hare
The Catechism Cataclysm
The Descendants
The Darkest Hour
Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame
Dirty Girl
Dream House
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
The Factory
Genius on Hold
Hell and Back Again
Hugo
I’m Glad my Mother is Alive
In the Land of Blood and Honey
The Iron Lady
Killer Elite
Like Crazy
Machine Gun Preacher
The Man Nobody Knew
Mission Impossible IV
Moneyball
My Joy
My Week with Marilyn
Paul Goodman Changed My Life
Pearl Jam Twenty
Puncture
Red State
The Rum Diary
Shaolin
Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows
The Sitter
Straw Dogs
Tanner Hall
Texas Killing Fields
The Three Musketeers
Three (Drei)
The Thing
Thunder Soul
Tomboy
Trespass
Tucker & Dale vs. Evil
W.E
Warrior
War Horse
We Bought a Zoo
We Were Here
The Whale
Young Adult

Leave a Reply

