Results: 1940’s Film Recommendations


Last week, I posted the list of 1940’s Films I came up with that I aspired to watch. I knew I would not be able to watch them all, so I asked for recommendations from readers about which films I should make it a point not to miss. Here are the results! What I will end up doing is making most of the films with votes a priority, with an additional few that received no votes. There are a few of these that are hard to get ahold of, and this may be an additional  factor as to what gets seen.

I am definitely going to do this for the 1950’s when I get to them, and will put the list in poll form for next time.

Thank you to everyone who commented or tweeted their picks!

The Window and Ivan the Terrible Part 2 were recommended to me, films not on the original list, which I have added.

The films in bold are ones I watched during the week.

They Live By Night – 7
Meshes of the Afternoon – 6
Thieves Highway – 6
A Canterbury Tale – 4
Odd Man Out – 4
La Terra Trema – 4
On the Town – 4
Foreign Correspondent – 4
Ivan the Terrible Part 1 – 4
Shoeshine – 3
The Big Clock – 3
Brighton Rock – 3
The Small Back Room – 3
Whisky Galore! – 2
The More the Merrier – 2
The Red House – 2
Blood of the Beasts – 2
The Clock – 2
Crossfire – 2
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty – 2
The Set-Up – 3
The Devil and Daniel Webster – 2
Spring in a Small Town – 2
The 49th Parallel – 2
Stray Dog – 2
Fires Were Started – 2
The 47 Ronin – 2
Pride of the Yankees – 1
The Dark Mirror – 1
The Shanghai Gesture – 1
Cabin in the Sky – 1
Meet John Doe – 1
Miracle on 34th Street – 1
Oliver Twist – 2
Lured – 1
The Lodger – 2
The Children Are Watching Us – 1
Henry V – 1
Kings Row – 1
Night Train to Munich – 1
The Flame of New Orleans – 1
The Man in Grey – 0
The Man Who Came to Dinner – 0
City for Conquest – 0
National Velvet – 0
No Regrets for Our Youth – 0
The Seventh Veil – 0
Act of Violence – 0
The Strange Affair of Uncle Harry – 0
The Suspect – 0
My Favorite Wife – 0
Drunken Angel – 0
Listen to Britain – 0

5 thoughts on “Results: 1940’s Film Recommendations

  1. It’s probably too late to leave more suggestions, but I only just now discovered your blog. At any rate, here’s my favorites of the 1940’s (although I’m sure you’ve seen most of the major ones):

    Casablanca
    Double Indemnity
    Begone Dull Care
    Nightmare Alley
    Betrayed (a.k.a. When Strangers Marry)
    My Love Has Been Burning
    Notorious
    Beyond the Forest
    My Darling Clementine
    The Third Man
    The Heiress
    It’s a Wonderful Life
    Meet Me in St. Louis
    La belle et la bete
    Force of Evil
    The Magnificent Ambersons
    Raw Deal
    Cry of the City
    The Lodger
    A Matter of Life and Death
    Moonrise
    The Ox-Bow Incident
    Ride the Pink Horse
    The Set-Up
    Shadow of a Doubt
    They Made Me a Fugitive
    Thieves’ Highway
    Thirst
    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
    Criss Cross
    Dreams That Money Can Buy
    The Gang’s All Here
    Lead Shoes
    Oliver Twist
    Secret Beyond the Door
    They Live By Night
    Gaslight
    The Strange Love of Martha Ivers

    …aaaaaaand I guess I’d better stop there, huh? I see you’ve already got some of these on your list, so happy viewing!

    1. Oh my goodness! Thank you for typing those out! I have seen a lot of them and a lot of them are among my all-time favorites! But there is also a lot I have not seen. It’s never too late for recommendations. Well, technically there is since I’m moving onto the 50’s later this month, but that also means you made the deadline! : )

      I won’t have time to watch everything on the list in my post, but I will keep track of the ones you recommended that weren’t on my list so I don’t forget that I should see them at some point! Thank you so much!

    1. Oh please do! I’ll need them! I always come up with my own list first, then see what others have to suggest. Then I can add and take off where I need to. I’ll have a post up later this month asking for recs, so be sure to comment when I do! : )

Leave a Reply

