Poll: Approaching the 1960’s


It only took until July, but I am finally closing up the 1950’s (I have four films left to watch), and am preparing to enter the 1960’s. I am taking a slightly different approach this time. This decade experiment is mostly an effort to focus on ‘canon’ films I have yet to see with a few semi-obscurities thrown in. Problem is, the number quickly piles up as there is so much to see! I have a hard time cutting down my to-see lists , especially when everyone so kindly offers up their recommendations. If I ever want to smoothly make my way across the decades, I need to cut my losses a bit more. After this year, it’ll be a free-for-all and I’ll hopefully make my way towards some hidden gems. My launching number for the 1960’s is 31. I will list them and I ask for recommendations from those 30 (as opposed to the over 60 listed for the 1950’s). I’m going to try and get through as many as I can.

First! A list of the films I watched for the 1950’s:

The Big Heat (1953, Lang)
Ivan the Terrible Part II (1946/1955, Eisenstein)
Journey to Italy (1954, Rossellini)
Los Olvidados (1950, Bunuel)
Animal Farm (1954)
Ordet (1955, Dreyer)
Senso (1954, Visconti)
The Furies (1950, Mann)
Nights of Cabiria (1957, Fellini)
A Man Escaped (1956, Bresson)
Floating Weeds (1959, Ozu)
Les Enfants Terribles (1950, Melville)
The River (1951, Renoir)
Casque D’Or (1952, Becker)
Le Plaisir (1952, Ophuls)
Night of the Demon (1957, Tourneur)
The Band Wagon (1953, Minnelli)
Les Cousins (1959, Chabrol)
House on Haunted Hill (1959, Castle)
Bad Day at Black Rock (1955, Sturges)
Sudden Fear (1952, Miller)
The Wrong Man (1956, Hitchcock)
Mon Oncle (1958, Tati)
Caged (1950, Marshall)
Street of Shame (1956, Mizoguchi)
Party Girl (1958, Ray)
Pather Panchali (not yet watched)
Smiles of a Summer Night (not yet watched)
Crazed Fruit (not yet watched)
On the Beach (not yet watched)

Here are my choices for the 1960’s. All recommendations based on these choices (or others you may deem noteworthy) are much appreciated. 

14 thoughts on “Poll: Approaching the 1960’s

  1. Since I might be the only one arguing for EROS + MASSACRE, I must beg that you try that one. At this point it’s probably my second of the decade after PLAYTIME. Some others that might be worth looking into (some I’ve seen, some I’ve not):

    Hatari!
    Paris Belongs to Us
    The Nun
    Any Godard (honestly, everything through ’67 is worth seeing; and after, obviously, but there’s a rough stretch between 67-72)
    The Housemaid
    When a Woman Ascends the Stairs

    1. Don’t worry; I will definitely be watching Eros + Massacre! The Housemaid and When a Woman Ascends the Stairs are 2 of my favorites from the 1960’s. Excellent picks!

  2. I put in my votes and wrote in Michael Roemer’s “Nothing but a Man,” but I could have easily added “Mandabi,” “Hunger,” “China is Near,” “Memories of Underdevelopment,” “Funeral Parade of Roses,” “An Actor’s Revenge,” “Black Test Car,” or Bunuel’s “The Young One” as more obscure picks.

    1. Thank you! The only one I have seen from that bunch is An Actor’s Revenge, although I know of a few of them. I will add Nothing but a Man to my immediate list!

  3. I’ll just chuck in a big list: The Magnificent Seven, Cleo from 5 to 7, Tokyo Drift and Branded to Kill, Young Girls of Rochefort, The Umbrellas of Cherbourg, Head, On Her Majesty’s Secret Service, Vivre Sa Vie, Alphaville, The 10th Victim, Le Samourai, Planet of the Apes, Danger: Diabolik and Barbarella, Fail-Safe.

    1. Thanks! I’ve seen Cleo from 5 to 7, Branded to Kill, Young Girls of Rochefort, The Umbrellas of Cherbourg, Vivre se Vie, Alphaville, Le Samourai, Planet of the Apes and Barbarella. I’d like to add Head to my immediate list for sure.

  4. Lots of great picks! I hit ‘submit’ before I noted what I just voted for, unfortunately.

    Army of Shadows is a standout for me since I love Melville’s films. I see Kes has 4 votes but I was let down by it. It’s a decent film and all but I wanted more.

  5. I’m a big lame lame-y! I’ve only seen one of those films you listed. I seem to recall you saying on Twitter once that you haven’t seen Bedazzled? (I think it was you, it was a while ago) If it was indeed you, you simply must. It’s one of the all-time great comedies.

  6. Jarrett S. says:

    This is a cool thing you’re doing here. Best of luck on your quest toward completion. I’m sure you won’t see anyone vote for it because it’s so obscure and insane, but for my money (and for what it’s worth, I’ve seen more than half the movies on this list and some of them are movies I love – ie. Harakiri, Point Blank, Seance…), Blind Beast is the one truly indispensable movie on this list. It’s one of the single most uncompromising, insane, taboo-shattering, beautiful, terrifying, one-of-a-kind films you’ll ever see anywhere, much less in this shortlist alone. Do yourself the favor.

    1. Thank you! I’m really happy to see someone getting behind Blind Beast. It’s one I’ve really wanted to see since hearing about it last year and don’t worry, I will definitely be watching it!

  7. The 60s are such a phenomenal decade, and you’ve got so many great films in your poll. I’m particularly pleased to see Andrei Rublev. That film is my favourite of the entire 60s. Spellbinding, marvellous movie. A couple other films in your poll I also love are 2 or 3 Things I Know About Her and An Autumn Afternoon. The former is one of my favourite Godard movies and the latter, as hard as it is to choose when it comes to Ozu, is my favourite Ozu film.

Leave a Reply

