List: Top 25 Performances from 2013


Starting today, I’ll have my lists up daily until I’m through. As I mentioned on my latest capsule review post there will be also be Top Fives of 2013, my What I’ll Remember About the Films of 2013: A Personal Sampling (something I started last year and absolutely loved doing) and of course my Top 30 Films of 2013 split into two posts.

Performances feel pretty silly to rank number by number, so my strategy is to split my Top 25 performances into two groupings, 25-10 and 10-1, and within that order them through alphabetizing. With my performance list I’ve also started my tradition of using three word descriptors to encapsulate the work that impressed me most. Even with 25 slots, a lot of work I loved got left off, but I try to get a mix and luckily my Top Fives of 2013 has room for all kinds of recognition. My count for 2013 film is 100 films exactly. There’s a lot I did not get around to seeing for a variety of reasons, but these are my standouts from the aforementioned 100.

Honorable Mention:
Scarlett Johansson – Samantha – Her 
Inquisitive. Evolving. Ebullient.

25-10 (in alphabetical order) 

No Barnal

Gael Garcia Barnal – René Saavedra – No 
Smug. Enigmatic. Cutting edge.

Michael Cera – Brink – Magic Magic 
Sketchy. Unnerving. Ineffectual.

Suzanne Clement – Fred Belair – Laurence Anyways 
Conflicted. Fabulous. Dauntless.

matt damon shirtless behind the candelabra

Matt Damon – Scott Thorson – Behind the Candelabra
Boy toy. Malleable. ‘Cock-sucking tenor fuck’.

Chiwetel Ejiofor – Solomon Northup – 12 Years a Slave
Dignified. Patient. Survivor.

James Gandolfini – Albert – Enough Said 
Affable. Openhearted. Wounded.

Jake Gyllenhaal – Loki – Prisoners 
Weary. Automated. Mordant.

Antiviral

Caleb Landry Jones – Syd March – Antiviral 
Ghostly. Cipher. Crispin Glover Jr.

Melissa McCarthy – Detective Shannon Mullins – The Heat 
Offhand. Streetwise. Rowdy.

Lupita Nyong’o – Patsey – 12 Years a Slave 
Depleted. Transporting. Tender.

Joaquin Phoenix – Theodore Twombly – Her 
Poignant. Loner. Smitten.

beyond_the_hills-1

Cosmina Stratan – Voichita – Beyond the Hills
Withdrawn. Devout. Hardened. 

Saskia Rosendahl – Lore – Lore 
Steadfast. Blinded. Burdened

Shailene Woodley – Aimee – The Spectacular Now
Sweet-natured. Compassionate. Selfless.

Zhang Ziyi – Gong Er – The Grandmaster 
Tenacious. Glowing. Wistful.

THE TOP TEN (alphabetical order):

Blue-Jasmine-Cate-Blanchett-4

Cate Blanchett – Jeanette ‘Jasmine’ Francis – Blue Jasmine
Acidic. Manic. Flailing.

Leonardo DiCaprio – Jordan Belfort – The Wolf of Wall Street 
Licentious. Unhinged. Capitalism.

Adele Exarchopoulos – Adele – Blue is the Warmest Color
Sensual. Earthy. Restless.

New world

Hwang Jeong-min – Jeong Cheong – New World
Posturing. Boastful. Brotherly.

Oscar Isaac – Llewyn Davis – Inside Llewyn Davis 
Alienating. Soulful. Grasping.

Brie Larson – Grace – Short Term 12 
Inhabited. Scarred. Munificent.

The Hunt Mads
Mads Mikkelsen – Lucas – The Hunt 
Unassuming. Enduring. Immovable.

Peter Mullan – Matt Mitcham – Top of the Lake 
Formidable. Alpha-Male. Detonative.

Simon Pegg – Gary King – The World’s End 
Drowning. Skittish. Wild-eyed.

Miles Teller – Sutter Keely – The Spectacular Now 
Deflecting. Reckless. Stasis.
 

Leave a Reply

