List: Top 30 Anticipated Films of Fall 2014 (Sept-Dec)


Well, here you go! No intro; here’s what I care most about coming out for the rest of the year. Notable omissions include Interstellar, The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby, Selma, Tracks, The Boxtrolls, Big Hero 6, etc. Yes, I care. But I care about these more.

My Top 30 Most Anticipated Films of Fall 2014

1. Inherent Vice (Anderson) (US)
2. Birdman (Iñárritu) (US) (Never thought I’d see the day where an Iñárritu film was at the top of my anticipated films list)
3. Clouds of Sils Maria (Assayas) (Germany/France/Switzerland) (I’m hearing rumblings about December, so I’m putting it in because I feel like being optimistic)
4. Foxcatcher (Miller) (US)
5. Two Days, One Night (Dardenne Brothers) (Belgium)
6. National Gallery (Wiseman) (US) (Documentary)
7. The Tale of Princess Kaguya (Isao Takahata) (Japan)
8. Mr. Turner (Leigh) (UK)
9. Gone Girl (Fincher) (US)
10. The Babadook (Kent) (Australia)
11. Force Majeure (Östlund) (Sweden)
12. Maps to the Stars (Cronenberg) (Canada)
13. The Overnighters (Moss) (US) (Documentary)
14. White Bird in a Blizzard (Araki) (France/US)
15. Big Eyes (Burton) (US)
16. Wetlands (Wnendt) (Germany)
17. Winter Sleep (Ceylan) (Turkey)
18. Zero Motivation (Lavie) (Israel)
19. The Skeleton Twins (Johnson) (US)
20. Why Don’t You Play in Hell? (Sion Sono) (Japan)
21. The Guest (Wingard) (US)
22. Stray Dogs (Tsai Ming-Liang) (Taiwan)
23. Nightcrawler (Gilroy) (US)
24. Honeymoon (Jeniak) (UK)
25. Laggies (Shelton) (US)
26. Horns (Aja) (US)
27. Whiplash (Chazelle) (US)
28. Dear White People (Simien) (US)
29. God Help the Girl (Murdoch) (UK)
30. Listen Up Phillip (Perry) (US)

The rest (not exhaustive):
The Better Angels
Leviathan
Interstellar
Goodbye to Language
The Blue Room
Beyond the Lights
Dumb and Dumber To
Advanced Style
No No: A Dockumentary
The Two Faces of January 
The Young Ones
The Homesman 
Annabelle
The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby
Selma
Bird People
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1
Big Hero 6
Rosewater
Jimi: All is By My Side
Tracks
The Zero Theorem 
The Drop 
I Am Eleven
St. Vincent
The Boxtrolls
The Maze Runner
Open Windows
Fury
The Imitation Game
Before I Go to Sleep
Dracula Untold

5 thoughts on “List: Top 30 Anticipated Films of Fall 2014 (Sept-Dec)

  1. I’m looking forward to several of those, even though the likelihood is that I won’t be able to see them in theaters. I’m intrigued by the new Dracula, but at the same time I have a slight feeling that it might turn out to be mediocre.

    1. I have looked at the lists of upcoming films and shocked to not see “KILL THE MESSENGER” an upcoming American drama thriller film directed by Michael Cuesta and written by Peter Landesman.which will be premier October 5 in LA and NY. In fact the film was shown to cast crew and guests in a special premier in Atlanta on Monday the 15th of September. I know this as my daughter was the Event Coordinator as well as part of the crew on the film. The Webb family also attended. The film stars Jeremy Renner (also his first film producing) as Gary Webb, Michael Sheen, Andy Garcia, Ray Liotta, Barry Pepper, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Rosemarie DeWitt, Paz Vega, Oliver Platt, Richard Schiff, and Michael K. Williams.

  2. Luckily I already got a chance to watch The Tale of Princess Kaguya and Stray Dogs, and they are indeed awesome! I am also crazily looking forward to Pasolini by Abel Ferrara and A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence by Roy Andersson.

  3. Eli says:

    I am new to your site and really loving your list here. my most anticipated are Foxcatcher, maps to the stars,inherent vice and the theory of everything.there are tons more and i wouldnt be surprised if my list matched yours. every year since 1998 i have made a top 10 films of the year and this year there are so many films that could be number 1. it goung to be tough!

Leave a Reply

