Hello all! I truly apologize that it has been a bit of a dead zone here lately. I go through spurts of being motivated to write a lot and vice versa. This is one of those vice versa times.  But I’m going to try and get some modicum of consistency going again. The fall prestige season is here and I’d like to write reviews for several films from the upcoming slate as well as several from films from this year I’m catching up on. My number of 2012 films seen is at 56 and I’d like it to be much higher by the time the year is finished so, among other reasons, I feel qualified to give decently well-rounded year-end lists. But for now, let’s kick things off with the first in a series of poll installment posts for all you movie lovers out there. It does not matter how many 2012 films you have seen; everyone can answer. Hopefully this will get you reflecting a bit about the year so far:

What I like about asking which film(s) were you most disappointed by this year is that it reflects greatly on what the individual moviegoer was looking forward to. There are plenty of films to be underwhelmed by, but the ones that truly disappoint are films that we had been highly anticipating for one reason or another. It is always clear what the consensus was underwhelmed or even vehement about and those films will certainly pop up here as well. However, it is the wide array of choices I am looking forward to seeing; a selection that goes past only representation of Prometheus and The Dark Knight Rises.

When I asked those who follow me on twitter today to tell me what they were most disappointed by this year, I hardly got any repeats. The selection ranged from The Master to Cosmopolis to Lockout to Lawless to Keyhole and even Samsara.

I favored wider releases for the poll choices, but please don’t take that as an accurate representation of film this year. There was a ton I left out.

MY ANSWER: I’d have to go with Whit Stillman’s long-awaited return with Damsels in Distress. This had been one of the films I was most anxious to see (#4 on my Films to See in January-April). Sorry Mr. Stillman, but I found your latest effort to be whimsically empty, the worst kind of froth and with characters who are too self-satisfied to even remotely register as anything but.

I’d love to hear your reasons in the comments section!

PLEASE BE SURE TO PUT YOUR ANSWER IN OTHER IF YOUR CHOICE DOES NOT APPEAR. ALSO, YOU ARE ALLOWED TO VOTE FOR UP TO 3 FILMS.

2 thoughts on “2012 in Film: Year-So-Far Poll #1 – Most Disappointing

Leave a comment